Guyana selects team for the Cenrobasket U17 Championship
July 13th, 2017
Guyana will be participating in the Under 17 Central America & Caribbean Basketball Championships (CentroBasket), which is scheduled to take place in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, from July 26 to 30 2017. 
The selection of the Guyana U17 Basketball team has been finalized to play in the Championships. The trials concluded on July 8, 2017, with twelve players being selected from the squad by Head Coach - Lugard Mohan and the assistant coaches.
Returning to Guyana to play in the CentroBasket Championship is United States-based Guyanese Kevon Wiggins, who is a 6’0 starting Guard at the Evander High School in Bronx New York. Wiggins was the leading scorer for Guyana in the Caribbean Basketball Confederation (CBC) U16 - 2016.  
Guyana will also benefit from the coaching expertise of Kenneth Avent from the United States of America. Avent is a player development specialist, with FIBA and is also a USA Basketball Licensed Coach and Youth Development Specialist, Gloucester Times - Coach of the year and was also awarded American Professional Basketball League coach of the year for 2016. Mr. Avent will be joining the team on July 14th.
Other countries participating in the CentroBasket U17 Championships are Jamaica, Bahamas, Mexico, Panama, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic and US Virgin Islands.
Guyana is in Group A, with Mexico, Bahamas, and Puerto Rico. The team will be encamped from 14-24 July 2017. Training continues twice daily at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall from Saturday, July 15.
GABF expects the high level of basketball competition will expose our youths to the intense training required to succeed at the international level. In addition, the exposure will also impart self-confidence, patriotism, and discipline among our youths. 
The team will depart Guyana on July 25 and return on August 1, 2017.  The Guyana delegation will consist of the following players:
Nigel Bowen
Tramine Brown 
Kelmar Carmichael
Akeem Crandon
Shamar France
Roydon Glasgow
Jether Harris
Andrew Johnson
Jermaine King
Kevon Wiggins -Captain
Anthony Yanson
Jahleel Young
The coaching staff will be led by:
Lugard Mohan, Head Coach
Kenneth Avent, Assistant Coach
Andrew Hercules, Team Manager
Jonas Anestal, Physical Trainer.